All Posts

Congratulations to Dr. Wood!

Dr. Charles E. Wood, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of the Department of Physiology and Functional Genomics, has been named one of the College of Medicine’s 2016-17 University Term Professors.  The University Term Professorship Program provides recognition to reward outstanding academic achievement.

Dr. Sumners Honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award

Congratulations to Dr. Colin Sumners who was named a 2017 recipient of the College of Medicine’s Lifetime Achievement Award.  Dr. Sumners has held a faculty position in the College of Medicine since 1982 and the award recognizes his extraordinary service to the College over that time frame.

Congratulations to Raizada Lab for Recent Awards

Congratulations to Dr. Mohan Raizada and members of his research group, who have won several awards in September: Council on Hypertension Scientific Session- 2016; September 14-17, Orlando, FL Colleen Jeffery: New Investigator Award, Paper on “Genetically Modified Probiotics for Oral 9 Delivery of Angiotensin-(1-7) Confers Protection Against Pulmonary Hypertension”. Colleen…

Dr. Kirk Conrad appointed Cade Professor of Physiology

Congratulations to Kirk P. Conrad, MD, who has been appointed the J. Robert and Mary Cade Professor of Physiology, an endowed chair in the Department of Physiology and Functional Genomics, UF College of Medicine. Dr. Conrad is internationally known for his contributions to our understanding of the role of the…

Congratulations to Dr. Chris Baylis!

Chris Baylis, PhD, Professor and Director of the UF Hypertension Center, has received the Irvine Page-Alva Bradley Lifetime Achievement Award. The award will be presented this month at the Council on Hypertension Meeting held by the American Heart Association. The Lifetime Achievement Award is presented each year to an individual…

Welcome to new faculty members!

Our department is pleased to welcome three new faculty members: Karyn Esser, PhD, Professor and Assistant Program Director of the Institute of Myology Jaya P. Kolli, MD, Lecturer in Physiology Abdel Alli, PhD, MPH, Assistant Professor…

Congratulations to Dr. Sayeski!

The Basic Science Teacher of the Year award for 2015 has been given to Peter P. Sayeski, Ph.D., Professor of Physiology and Functional Genomics.   This award from the University of Florida College of Medicine recognizes his excellence in education of graduate and professional students at UF’s Academic Health Center.

Congratulations to Douglas Bennion!

Douglas Bennion, an MD/PhD candidate in the laboratory of Dr. Colin Sumners, was selected along with twelve other students to represent the University of Florida at the second annual Florida Statewide Graduate Student Research Symposium in Orlando, FL.

Congratulations to Monica Santisteban!

Monica Santisteban, a doctoral candidate in our department, has received the Steven M. Horvath Professional Opportunity Award.  This is an abstract-based award granted by the Education Office of the American Physiological Society to two ethnic or racial minority graduate students or postdoctoral fellows. Monica was also selected to chair the…

Dr. Raizada wins Lifetime Achievement Award

Dr. Mohan K. Raizada has been chosen as the winner of a Life Time Achievement Award by the faculty of the University of Florida College of Medicine.  This was awarded by the Faculty Council in light of Dr. Raizada’s dedication, devotion, and superior service to the College of Medicine, which…