Seminars & Journal Clubs Join us for a Seminar!

In addition to formal courses, there are many active seminar series and journal clubs within the College of Medicine that provide students with presentations by experts in the field and engaging discussions on current topics in physiology and gerontology.

All seminars are held on Mondays from 12pm-1pm in the Medical Science Building, Room M304. You may view live via Zoom.

Classes for the Fall 2023 semester begin August 23. Holidays/Breaks: September 4, October 6, November 10, 23-24, December 25. Classes end December 6.

*Seminar schedule is subject to change. If you have any questions, please call us at 352-294-5064.

September 18, 2023

Lei Wang, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, College of Medicine Molecular Pharmacology and Physiology, University of South Florida
Topic: Preserving Na+/K+-ATPase Functions with a Synchronization Modulation Electric Field to reduce ischemic injury
Zoom passcode: 853118

Dr. Lei Wang

October 9, 2023

Jose Abisambra, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Assistant Dean of Diversity & Health Equity, College of Medicine, University of Florida
Topic: Considerations for Research and Health Care Excellence, Community, and Belonging
Zoom passcode: 853118

Jose Abisambra

October 16, 2023

Sung Min Han, Ph.D., Assistant Professor, Department of Physiology and Aging, College of Medicine, University of Florida
Topic: Non-cell-autonomous Regulation of Organismal Aging through Neuronal Mitochondria in C. elegans
Zoom passcode: 853118

Dr. Sung Min Han

October 30, 2023

Andrew Liu, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Department of Physiology and Aging, College of Medicine, University of Florida
Topic: Connecting cell homeostasis to circadian rhythms, sleep, and health
Zoom passcode: 853118

Dr. Andrew Liu

November 20, 2023

Jamie Collins, Ph.D., Professor, IFAS, University of Florida
Topic: Intestinal Divalent Metal-ion Transporter 1 (DMT1) as a Therapeutic Target in iron Deficiency and Iron Overload
Zoom passcode: 853118

James Collins

December 4, 2023

Science Communication Student Presentations College of Medicine, University of Florida
Zoom passcode: 853118

Fall 2023 Journal clubs

Journal Club

Muscle Journal Club

Dr. Glenn Walter
2:00pm-4:00pm, M559

Journal Club

Cardio/Renal Journal Club

Drs. Michelle Gumz and Ryan Crislip
3:00pm-4:00pm, M559

Journal Club

Reproduction, Pregnancy and Lifelong Impact

Dr. Helen Jones
Tuesdays (every two weeks)
1:00pm-3:00pm, M337L

Journal Club

Aging Journal Club

Dr. Sung Min Han
11:30am-1:00pm, M559