Faculty Summary

Faculty Contact InformationResearch InterestsCurrently Accepting Rotation Students
Charles E. Wood, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
(352) 294-5064
woodc@ufl.edu
Fetus; Stress; Neuroendocrinology; Blood pressure; Hypoxia; Ischemia; Labor; Parturition; Adrenocorticotropin; ACTH; Cortisol; Estrogen; Estradiol; Estradiol-3-Sulfate; Sulfatase; Sulfotransferase.Yes
Abdel Alli, Ph.D., MPH
Assistant Professor
(352) 273-7877
aalli@ufl.edu
Diabetic nephropathy; Blood pressure disorders; Pregnancy; Ion channels; Sodium transport; Exosomes; Proteases; Scaffolding proteins; Phospholipid phosphates.Yes
Heather Brockway, Ph.D.  
Assistant Professor
(352) 273-9523 h.brockway@ufl.edu
  
Erin B. Bruce, Ph.D.
Lecturer
(352) 294-8626
ebruce5@ufl.edu
Dr. Bruce teaches graduate-level courses in Cardiovascular Physiology. 
Erica A. Dale, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(352) 273-8241
ericadale@ufl.edu
Neural control of breathing; Stepping, standing, and postural control after spinal cord injury; Spinal mechanisms in the autonomic control of arrhythmias in a porcine model; Respiratory physiology and neurobiology; Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis; Spinal learning. 
Helen Jones, Ph.D.       Associate Professor
(352) 846-1503 jonesh@ufl.edu
  
Annette de Kloet, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(352) 294-8490
adekloet@ufl.edu
Obesity; Hypertension; Metabolic syndrome; Stress and stress-related pathologies; Neuroendocrinology; Neural regulation of blood pressure; Neural regulation of energy metabolism; Thermoregulation; Ingestive behavior; Renin angiotensin system.Yes
Karyn Esser, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Program Director, Institute of Myology
(352) 273-5728
kaesser@ufl.edu
Circadian rhythms and the molecular clock in skeletal muscle; Exercise and circadian rhythms; Molecular clock and myogenic transcription program; Skeletal muscle hypertrophy; Aging and circadian rhythms; Skeletal muscle structure and function. 
Jaya P. Kolli, M.D.
Lecturer
(352) 273-8693
jkolli@ufl.edu
Dr. Kolli teaches graduate-level courses in Renal and Cardiovascular Physiology. 
Andrew C. Liu, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(352) 392-3791
andrew.liu@ufl.edu
Circadian rhythms in mammals; Biochemistry; Genetics; Molecular biology; Functional genomics; Behavior; Physiology; Immunology.Yes
Mohan K. Raizada, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
(352) 392-9299
mraizada@ufl.edu
Cellular and Molecular Mechanisms Involved in Brain Angiotensin Control of Cardiovascular Functions; Genetic Targeting of the RAS for the Control of Hypertension.Yes
Peter P. Sayeski, Ph.D.
Professor
(352) 392-1816
psayeski@ufl.edu
Signal transduction; Jak2 tyrosine kinase; Tyrosine kinase biology; Small molecule inhibitors; Myeloproliferative disorders; Stroke; Hematological malignancies. 
Bruce R. Stevens, Ph.D.
Professor
(352) 392-4480
stevensb@ufl.edu
Gut microbiome; Inflammation; Astrocyte; Transport; Transporter; Membranes; Schizophrenia; Psychosis; TLR3, Innate Immunity; Signaling; Cellular physiology; Antioxidant; PKR; Heme oxygenase; Glutamate. 
Colin Sumners, Ph.D.
Professor and Program Director, Junior Honors Medical Program
(352) 392-4485
csumners@ufl.edu
The cellular, molecular and physiological actions of angiotensin II (Ang II) in the brain. 
Tanja Taivassalo, Ph.D.
Associate Professor(352) 294-8748
ttaivassalo@ufl.edu
Neuromuscular disease; Mitochondria and mitochondrial DNA disorders; Innovative treatment approaches aimed at inducing skeletal muscle adaptation; Exercise training; Intermittent hypoxia.Yes
Glenn A. Walter, Ph.D.
Professor
(352) 294-5996
glennw@ufl.edu
Pathophysiology of muscle damage and the development of novel molecular and cellular imaging techniques.Yes

For a full listing of our Affiliate and Joint Faculty, please visit this page.

For a full listing of our Emeritus Faculty, please visit this page.

For a full listing of our Courtesy Appointments, please visit this page.