Faculty Summary

 

Contact Information Research Interests
Charles E. Wood, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair
(352) 294-5064
woodc@ufl.edu
Fetus
Stress
Neuroendocrinology
Blood Pressure
Hypoxia
Ischemia
Labor
Parturition
Adrenocorticotropin
ACTH
Cortisol
Estrogen
Estradiol
Estradiol-3-Sulfate
Sulfatase
Sulfotransferase
Abdel Alli, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor
(352) 273-7877
aalli@ufl.edu
diabetic nephropathy
blood pressure disorders
pregnancy
ion channels
sodium transport
exosomes
proteases
scaffolding proteins
phospholipid phosphates
Erin B. Bruce, PhD
Lecturer
(352) 294-8626
ebruce5@ufl.edu
Dr. Bruce teaches graduate-level courses in Cardiovascular Physiology.
Kirk P. Conrad, M.D.
J. Robert and Mary Cade Professor of Physiology
(352) 392-2798
kpconrad@ufl.edu
Cardiovascular and renal vasodilation, and increased arterial compliance during normal pregnancy
Cardiovascular and renal vasodilatory actions and mechanisms of relaxin
Corpus luteal contribution to pregnancy physiology and outcome in assisted reproductive technology
Trophoblast and placental biology
Endometrial antecedents of preeclampsia
Annette de Kloet, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
(352) 294-8490
adekloet@ufl.edu
Obesity
Hypertension
Metabolic syndrome
Stress and stress-related pathologies
Neuroendocrinology
Neural regulation of blood pressure
Neural regulation of energy metabolism
Thermoregulation
Ingestive behavior
Renin angiotensin system
Karyn Esser, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Program Director, Institute of Myology
(352) 273-5728
kaesser@ufl.edu
Circadian rhythms and the molecular clock in skeletal muscle
Exercise and circadian rhythms
Molecular clock and myogenic transcription program
Skeletal muscle hypertrophy
Aging and circadian rhythms
Skeletal muscle structure and function
Hideko Kasahara, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(352) 846-1503
hkasahar@ufl.edu
The function of Nkx2.5, an evolutionarily conserved NK2 class of homeobox transcription factor in mature cardiomyocytes.
Jaya P. Kolli, M.D.
Lecturer
(352) 273-8693
jkolli@ufl.edu
Dr. Kolli teaches graduate-level courses in Renal and Cardiovascular Physiology.
Andrew C. Lui, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(352) 392-3791
andrew.liu@ufl.edu
Circadian rhythms in mammals
Biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, functional genomics
Behavior, physiology, immunology
Mohan K. Raizada, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
(352) 392-9299
mraizada@ufl.edu
Cellular and Molecular Mechanisms Involved in Brain Angiotensin Control of Cardiovascular Functions.
Genetic Targeting of the RAS for the Control of Hypertension.
Peter P. Sayeski, Ph.D.
Professor
(352) 392-1816
psayeski@ufl.edu
Signal transduction, Jak2 tyrosine kinase, tyrosine kinase biology, small molecule inhibitors, myeloproliferative disorders, stroke, hematological malignancies.
Bruce R. Stevens, Ph.D.
Professor
(352) 392-4480
stevensb@ufl.edu
Gut Microbiome, Inflammation, Astrocyte, Transport, Transporter, Membranes, Schizophrenia, Psychosis, TLR3, Innate Immunity, Signaling, Cellular Physiology, Antioxidant, PKR, Heme oxygenase, Glutamate
Colin Sumners, Ph.D.
Professor and Program Director, Junior Honors Medical Program
(352) 392-4485
csumners@ufl.edu
The cellular, molecular and physiological actions of angiotensin II (Ang II) in the brain.
Tanja Taivassalo, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
(352) 294-8748
ttaivassalo@ufl.edu
Neuromuscular disease; Mitochondria and mitochondrial DNA disorders; Innovative treatment approaches aimed at inducing skeletal muscle adaptation; Exercise training; Intermittent hypoxia
Glenn A. Walter, Ph.D.
Professor
(352) 294-5996
glennw@ufl.edu
Pathophysiology of muscle damage and the development of novel molecular and cellular imaging techniques